1 Comment

Fainting Goat Syndrome


After my last post it occurred to me that folks might wonder what fainting has to do with narcolepsy.

Narcolepsy has some fun symptoms which include; hallucinations, sleep paralysis, excessive daytime sleepiness and cataplexy. Cataplexy is a sudden loss of muscle control due to sudden strong emotions like laughing or crying. Or, as in my case, sudden fear.

The first instance I can remember was in high school. My brother thought it would be funny to mess with me during the night. I woke up to him leaning over me, his face about an inch from mine. It scared me so badly I passed out.

The most recent incident happened just before Christmas. I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, not realizing that my husband was already in there. The light was off and my eyes were barely open, so I didn’t see him when I walked in the door. All he said was “Hey” and I dropped like a sack of potatoes. I didn’t black out, but it took me a minute or two to recover.

I even managed to bruise my knee from hitting the door frame on the way down.

Tom, worried that I’d get hurt, swore he’d never use that bathroom again at night. He’s a good man, that Tom.

One comment on “Fainting Goat Syndrome

  1. ah I get the goat similarity-your falling down but not actually blacking out. So now I can worry about you just alittle bit more….

Leave a Reply

