Leave a comment

Booze cakes for my lovey


I used to bake for my lovey on the weekends. Then I got out of the habit. Post-surgery, I was only doing the bare minimum to keep us fed, so extraneous time spent on my good foot in the kitchen just didn’t cross my mind for a while.

Then we had a house-guest, and I felt inspired to bake.

The Commander’s best friend, C2 came to VA for some training and spent a few weekends with us.  He was away from his family for 10 weeks.

10 weeks in a small, stuffy apartment instead of his comfy home in the mid-west.

10 weeks living with two (or maybe it was three, I don’t remember) dudes instead of his lovely wife and kids.

10 weeks eating out of boxes instead of home cooked meals.

I figured that he deserved some special treats. If it were my Commander, I’d hope that someone would do the same for him.

Even though he was happy to be getting desserts again, my lovey complained that the desserts were C2’s favorites, and what about him? Doesn’t he deserve a special dessert?

Yes lovey, yes you do.

Last weekend I decided to make a dessert that would be especially for my Commander. It was our last weekend with C2 (he’s going home this weekend! My heart is happy for his family) so I consulted my new dessert cookbook, which seemed appropriate for the occasion.

quite possibly the greatest cook book ever

I found just the thing.

obviously nothing I  make will ever be this pretty

Blue Hawaii Pineapple Upside-Down Cupcakes.
“But Alicia, aren’t you gluten intolerant? “
Yes, yes I am. That was very thoughtful of you to remember.
No worries, because I also happen to have this book

everything in this book is awesome. nothing tastes GF.

and I was able to cross reference with the GF pineapple upside-down cake recipe.
Baking was fun.

I think more rum made it into my cup than it did the batter…..

The thing to keep in mind when baking GF is that the consistency of the batter is nothing like that of a normal cake batter. It’s more like cookie dough.
So when I got to the part where I was supposed to separate some batter and add the blue food coloring and the blue Curacao….

this calls for more rum……. and a rock

It didn’t work very well.
But I popped them in the oven and hoped for the best.

I may have over filled the cups….

At this point I was feeling concerned.
More rum went into my cup.
Then I felt better.
Fortunately, they came easily out of the pan.

I ended up breaking this lovely cake plate which was a wedding gift from C2 and his wife… I can’t have nice things.

Not too shabby.
Not too shabby at all.

even the whipped topping has booze in it….. yum.

The Commander was pleased.
The Commander was VERY pleased.
They were rich and delicious and disappeared very quickly.
Since I know you’ll want to make booze cakes of your own, I have included the recipe below. For the life of me I couldn’t get a good scan of the page.

Go get some Sailor Jerry and get to drinking!… I mean baking!
Happy Weekend, Everyone!

Leave a comment